STYLING VOL. VIII – DYEING MADE EASY

Hello everybody! I’m back with a new edition of styling! Unfortunately due to our academic schedule, I haven’t been able to post as much as I would like to. But don’t fret! Summer is fast approaching and I’ll be using that time off to create tons of new content.

Now on to today’s topic! On Thursday of last week I had the sudden urge to dye my hair. Not really sure what sparked it, but I have no regrets. Luckily I had this cool Korean hair dye known as “Pudding Hair Color” lying around (it was an impulse buy from back in February). Also side note, if you’re going to invest in beauty products, Korean brands are typically pretty reliable and very high quality.

Dongsung-eZn-Shaking-Pudding-Hair-Color-Ash-Blonde-433-930x814
Pudding Hair Color…yes it actually kinda looks like pudding when it’s mixed

So I had two colors to choose from (it comes in about 1.3 million colors), raspberry red brown and sandy ash. I figured I’d do the raspberry red brown since it wouldn’t be such a drastic change from my currently hair color which is black if you haven’t noticed. I didn’t get my hopes up because I had tried using henna on my hair a few months ago…and yeah it doesn’t work on black hair. But I figured, hey what do I have to lose?

I opened the box to find a mixing cup, two liquids, and a bunch of protective equipment inside. WARNING: it stains…RIP my “Ithaca is Gorges” shirt. The directions are pretty straightforward and in 2 minutes I was ready to dye. After mixing, the dye really looked like a jello/pudding that you could eat. Don’t eat it.

Luckily I had my buddy Brandon with me to help out with the process. He put the pudding in my hair and massaged it around a bit. Basically you just apply it kind of like hair product. It’s super easy, but it does like to get away from you. After waiting the designated 30 min., I took a shower and behold…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Given that I had black hair at the start, I’d say this was a pretty successful experiment. Though the instructions said to leave the product in for 10 extra min. for thick hair…probably could’ve done that for better color. Oh well you live and you learn.

Oh I haven’t even gotten to the best part yet! This product is actually pretty nourishing for your hair. It contains several essential oils and other natural extracts which help prevent damage to your hair that’s normally associated with coloring. All in all, you could say I am pretty pleased. If you have any questions, just hit me up at shuaigeteam@gmail.com.

Stay Shuai,

Cam

 

 

Leave a Reply

